Matthew J. Huber Award

The Matthew J. Huber Award for Excellence in Transportation Research and Education is given to University of Minnesota graduate students demonstrating outstanding academic achievement in engineering, science, and technology fields. Up to two students are honored each year (one master's and one doctoral candidate).

The award is named in honor of the late Professor Emeritus Matthew J. Huber in recognition of his long and valuable contribution to the teaching and study of transportation.

Recipients each receive a $1,500 scholarship award and a plaque from CTS. Awards may be disbursed as a taxable, lump-sum payment. Applications are reviewed by a subcommittee comprised of representation from the CTS Scholars, CTS Education and Engagement Council, and CTS staff. The awards are presented at the Center's Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon.

Award Criteria

  1. Academic contributions to transportation- or energy-related research, writing, and other educational activities related to transportation (30 points).
  2. Applicant capstone project, or transportation- or energy-related papers presented at nationally or internationally recognized conferences and/or submitted or published journal publications (30 points).
  3. Transportation- or energy-related work experience, coursework, or involvement in student or professional organizations (10 points).
  4. Applicant written summary responding to questions one and two in the online application (15 points).
  5. Recommendation by a University faculty member (15 points).

Application Process

The application deadline for the 2024 award has passed. Details about the 2025 award will be posted as they become available.

Additional Information

  1. A student can win the Award for Excellence in Transportation Research and Education only once (even if their degree program has changed).
  2. Students may apply for the Huber Award OR the Adams Award but NOT both.
  3. Awards for master’s students are not limited to terminal master’s degrees. You may apply for the master’s award even if you are continuing into a Ph.D. program.
  4. Applicants must be active students during semester of the award.
  5. The award will be presented at the CTS Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon. Students and advisors are invited to attend this event.
  6. An example of a well-written application summary for the award:

Award Recipients

View a list of recipients of the Matthew J. Huber Award.


Please contact Carissa Frandrup, CTS program coordinator, at