Richard P. Braun Transportation Scholarship

The Richard P. Braun Transportation Scholarship is given to University of Minnesota undergraduate students pursuing degrees related to transportation who have demonstrated academic merit and leadership skills. One scholarship is awarded per year.

The scholarship honors Richard P. Braun’s leadership in transportation within the Minnesota Department of Transportation and for founding CTS.

Award Requirements

The $1,000 award is made based upon demonstration of how a student's coursework, internships, volunteer, and other activities have contributed to their interest in entering the transportation field. Students' experience in leadership positions and their description of how that experience will help with a future in a transportation-related career will also be considered.

The award is presented at the Center's Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon in February. With questions, please contact Claire Johnson, CTS program coordinator, at

Erick Sipila
Erick Sipila​​​​​​

2020 Winner

Erick Sipila

Erick Sipila is an undergraduate in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, advised by David Orser.


Past Winners


Maranatha Hayes, undergraduate in civil engineering and statistics (Advisor: Timothy LaPara)


Ella Rasp, undergraduate in urban studies (Advisor: Paula Pentel)