Leaders, students recognized at CTS Awards Luncheon

Greg LindseyGreg Lindsey Amy VennewitzAmy Vennewitz
George SchemberGeorge Schember Jim McDonoughJim McDonough
Woongsun JeonWoongsun Jeon Jacqueline NowakJacqueline Nowak
Xinyi WuXinyi Wu Travis FriedTravis Fried
Frank AlarconFrank Alarcon

CTS presented the following awards at its Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony on February 22 in Minneapolis.

Richard P. Braun Distinguished Service Award

(outstanding leadership in research and innovation)

Greg Lindsey, professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota


Ray L. Lappegaard Distinguished Service Award

(outstanding leadership, mentorship, and support for the profession)

Amy Vennewitz, deputy director, Metropolitan Transportation Services, Metropolitan Council


William K. Smith Distinguished Service Award

(leadership, mentorship, and education of future leaders in private-sector freight transportation)

George Schember, vice president, Cargill Transportation & Logistics


Distinguished Public Leadership Award

(public leaders who have influenced innovative transportation policy directions)

Jim McDonough, chair, Ramsey County Board of Commissioners


Education Awards

Matthew J. Huber Award

(students in engineering, science, and technology fields)

Woongsun Jeon: Doctoral candidate, mechanical engineering; advisor: Rajesh Rajamani

Jacqueline Nowak: Master’s degree, urban and regional planning, and master’s, civil engineering; advisor: Alireza Khani


John S. Adams Award

(students in policy and planning fields)

Xinyi Wu: Doctoral candidate, urban planning; advisor: Jason Cao

Travis Fried: Master of GIS; advisor: Susanna McMaster


Richard P. Braun Scholarship

(undergraduates pursuing transportation-related degrees)

Ella Rasp: Undergraduate, urban studies; advisor: Paula Pentel


Roadway Safety Institute Outstanding Student of the Year

Frank Alarcon: Master’s degree, urban and regional planning; advisor: Frank Douma

Related Link