Research papers honored at national TRB meeting

Two papers by U of M researchers received awards at the annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board, held in Washington, DC, in January.

Implementing Low-Stress Bicycle Routing in National Accessibility Evaluation received the 2019 Best Paper Award from TRB’s Bicycle Transportation Committee. Authors were Brendan Murphy, lead researcher for the Accessibility Observatory (AO), and AO director Andrew Owen. The paper, one of approximately 150 submitted to the committee, stems from AO research that created a new metric to incorporate traffic stress and cycling comfort in the evaluation of access to destinations by bicycle. The research was sponsored by the National Accessibility Evaluation Pooled-Fund Study.

New Procedure to Evaluate the Post-Crack Behavior of Fiber-Reinforced Concrete was honored as the 2019 Best Paper by TRB’s Concrete Material Section. (The section consists of four committees and a task force.) Authors were graduate student Bryce Hansen (now a structural engineer at Barr Engineering) and Manik Barman, an assistant professor in the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Minnesota Duluth. In their MnDOT-funded work, the team developed guidelines for using the material (structural fibers), which offers promise as a cost-effective repair option for concrete pavement.


Sign up to receive the Catalyst newsletter in your inbox

Media Contact

Michael McCarthy