Environment and Energy in Transportation Research Council

This council examines topics such as air and water quality, stormwater management, erosion control, roadside vegetation, climate change, alternative fuels, greenhouse gas emissions, and more.


Activities of the Council include:

  • Provide advice during research project activities.
  • Identify and advance emerging research needs and opportunities.
  • Participate in seminars and other mechanisms to disseminate research results.
  • Assist in planning the annual CTS Research Conference.

Upcoming Meeting

What's New and Upcoming in Electrification and Transportation
Thursday, May 3, 2018, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
McNamara Alumni Center, University of Minnesota
RSVP to attend

This joint meeting with the Planning and the Economy Council aims to share information and research, make connections, and facilitate a discussion of research needs and issues related to electrification and transportation. Several speakers will share their breadth of knowledge in the field—which includes air policy, funding, technology, data collection, utility impacts, economics, land use, and more—in short, five-minute presentations. These will be followed by a facilitated discussion and time for networking and idea exchanges.

Speakers will include:

  • Lisa Thurstin, American Lung Association
  • Michael Noble, Fresh Energy
  • David Ranallo, Great River Energy
  • Will Northrop, University of Minnesota, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Neil Ralston, Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
  • Mathias Bell, Xcel Energy (invited)
  • Tom Fisher, University of Minnesota, College of Design
  • Amanda Jarrett Smith, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Brendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute

In addition to council members and friends, other practitioners in planning and engineering and anyone interested in research or other opportunities related to electrification are welcome to attend.

If you would like to attend, please RSVP. With questions, please contact Kaydee Kirk at kkirk@umn.edu.


Council members are appointed by the CTS director on behalf of the CTS Executive Committee, following nomination by the council chair. Approximately one-third of council members are University faculty or staff. Non-University members include a balance of business, government, and other interests.

A membership rotation occurs every three years. Though members may serve more than one consecutive three-year term, an effort is made to rotate approximately one-third of council membership during a rotation year. In addition to members, “friends” of councils also participate in council activities. New members will often be drawn from friends who are active within councils.

How do I become involved?

If you are interested in becoming a friend of one or more of the councils, please contact Kaydee Kirk, CTS program coordinator, at 612-626-5854 or kkirk@umn.edu, or return the Council interest form (PDF).